How do I keep my code safe even if I share it with freelancers?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Two levels with two sistem Wave. with Source-code (.c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • Hello, how are you? After developing my games for a long time, I'm finally looking for ways help.

There are hundreds of incredible freelancers in the world and, of course, I'll find good people to solve specific problems or even develop entire projects!

My question is: when you guys do projects like this, do you share the entire code with the freelance? How do you protect yourself against copies of the code or even possible re-skins of your game? I'm new to hiring people, so I have this question regarding best practices.

• There is no way to protect your code to work with freelancer, but you can put some efforts in reducing the risk. I understand the issue since I am a freelancer and sometimes potential clients are concern about their code to be stolen.

Here my advice:

1) Work only with freelancer that have a good reputation and that can prove they have the skills to help you. If they are more skilled then you, they don't need to steal your code since they can for sure make the game all by themselves and probably better. That's why you ask their help in the end, right?

2) If you need a specific function, just ask to make a standalone program. You can just copy the Event Sheet(s) provided into your game and adapt them.

3) If solution n.2 doesn't work for you, then create a new project, recreate the issue you need to fix there with placeholder art and audio, and ask to fix the issue in that test program. You will then copy and adapt it to your game.

4) If solution 2 and 3 are not suitable for you, then make a copy of your program and remove from it all the things that are not related to your issue, make sure the issue is still happening as in the original program and then send it to the freelancer.