A question about text and global variables

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
From the Asset Store
Globals 2.0
$3.99 USD
Globals 2.0 stores and group variables. You can also load and save data (variables) from/to JSON files.
  • What should I do to force the text to retrieve information from global variables? In events, I did:

System Every tick Text1 Set text to "Score: " & Score

Why doesn't it work?

• It does work. Did you save Score as text "" or number 0 because text will show nothing "" unless you put something in it and number should show 0.

Is your text box big enough to show Score: 0...

And don't use everytick, only update the text file when the score updates...

Post a capx, so we can see where you went wrong - because it does work.

• Can you please explain more clearly? I am new to Construct 2.

• And How should I do this the right way that it updates every time when global variable changes?

• OK, here are the screenshots. I've got the Event Sheet and the Layout. Sorry for spamming messages if it annoyed you.

• if your global variable is a number then that is the reason I think. A number is a type called "number". The text object only takes data in the "text" format. If you want to use data of the type "number" in text you might need to surround the number with "str(...)" when you set the text. Like this:

• And How should I do this the right way that it updates every time when global variable changes?

Hi, you have an event 'on collision with sprite6' you could update the text in tne same event.

ON collision with sprite6:

Destroy sprite6

Add 1 to score

text = "score " & str(score)

• It's still not working and (I think it's a bug) in 'Good job' layout, there are platforms (they are sprites, ofc) that I placed on 'Level' layout, but not on the said 'Good job' layout. The platform bug happens only when I play my game, but not when I'm editing it. Why is it this way?!