I'm trying to make a text game. Would it be wrong if I did like this? (still learning)

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • I want to implement a text game with images and option like a gamebook, I'm sending the capx on how I did it and I would like you guys to take a look at the event sheet. It's very simple and basic, but as a beginner, I think it's the most understandable way to do it. I know It's easy to get lost with the variable and mess things up, but I'm thinking that if I going foward with this, I would use some stickers to keep track of the story (just like in bandersnatch) And I think that I will be able to organize things like that. The file:

dropbox.com/scl/fi/odii8ldsvvxec6u94zucz/textgametest.capx

The Question is:

- Is there a better way to do it? (Please, don't suggest overcomplicated stuff like xml, json files or arrays. I tried to learn these things, but it goes too over my head. Of course, unless you have a step by step compilation of videos that teaches how to use that, for what I'm trying to do, you're welcomed)

- and the most important...If I keep doing this way, will it affect my game's performance?

• That's the most ineffective way to make such games. You have to create separate events for every screen, every choice option. If you continue developing the game like this you will soon realize that it becomes unmanageable.

In C3 there is a new feature called Flowcharts. I didn't have time to play with it, but I imagine it can be a huge help in creating text based adventure games.

I C2 I would suggest using some data object - JSON, XML or an array to organize all texts and choices, and create connections between them.

• I understand, thank you very much! anyway, could you explain why using data files (xml etc..) would be more efficient?

• Because you can build an efficient and scalable system.

Imagine you create a JSON file with records like this:

{