Bullet and player movement are linked.

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Players follower. use it for anything which follows the player
  • Hi everyone.

I’m brand new to construct and game making in general. And I have an issue with bullet movement linking with player movement that is driving me nuts.

I spent four hours yesterday trying to get my player to move, animate and shoot in the right direction. I have found a way that works, but it’s certainly not the most elegant solution.

I use 8 direction movement, and shoot in four different directions, but have an issue with the bullet changing direction after being spawned because my player changes direction.

I came on here to post a long query about my issue, and was going through the event sheet to post all the relevant details, when I stumbled on the problem, but still can’t figure out the fix for it.

The offending piece of script:-

System - player.8direction.movingangle = xx - bullet -set angle of motion = xx

That is recreated four times, one for each direction of motion.

This event means my bullet always aligns to my player movement angle, and leaves me with bullets turning corners and doubling back on themselves whenever I move my player.

So long explanation for a short question,

how do I get my player and bullet to act independently after spawning, keeping the correct direction of initial movement?

Thanks.

• If you're shooting them from the player then the usual is to use 'bullet on created : set angle' that way it has an angle set as you shoot it and doesn't change.

• Thanks!

That’s Seems so simple, but I completely missed it in all my efforts. It makes me look like a fool -_- While I’m looking foolish, I might as well ask, what ‘angle‘ do I set the bullet to? Player angle? Animation angle? Degrees?

However, my problem persists. Because I don’t think I’ve sorted anything right from the start.

My event sheet looks like this:-

On space - player spawnbullet