How do I make only adjacent squares on a grid clickable?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Snap to visible grid - perfect solution for any game genre
  • I am very, very new to Construct, though I understand programming fundamentals. I am trying to make a very simple game that is essentially the first of these ice puzzles from Pokemon (ignore the voice).

Subscribe to Construct videos now

I have a 5x5 grid of blank tiles, and each time a tile is clicked an O appears on it. Players start at the start and can only select blank tiles adjacent to the O tile they just clicked. You must click a path through all 25 tiles and end at the exit to win.

I don't know what tools I need to make use of to check for adjacency. I have read some people say arrays but I don't understand how I would implement them in this instance.

Here's the project link https://drive.google.com/file/d/1fMOTmdZZGxKXbd45y_2uQElvoJiTsDP0/view?usp=sharing. Again, I am very new to actually designing this stuff so excuse how messy this project must be.

Thanks!

• Hard to make it messy with only 2 events, I was expecting something crazy :D

Anyway I would go about this by using Tile Movement behaviour because I've been using it recently and it's really cool. Your object would be invisible and you can use the behaviour to check if you can move to an adjacent tile. There is a condition 'can move to tile', the ones you cannot move to would be solid and the ones you can move to would be the current gridposition.x,gridposition.y with +/- 1 depending on the direction.

You then move the invisible object (simulate control in a direction) to the next tile and mark it with the circle, and the conditions are then based on the new tile. Also a bonus for this is it works very well if you decide you want to make it a moveable character like in the video rather than clicking, so you could give control to the invisible object/player to move to only adjacent squares like in that puzzle.